“Well, I’ll give it a go”

Six hours in to her first year at school The Youngest had made an impression. Teacher asked to speak to me.

“There may be something wrong up here” said teacher tapping the area where her brain should have been, the brain that would have alerted her, that would have stopped her tapping her head when talking to a parent about their child, especially this parent. I freaked.

In her defence I had sewn the seed because I knew that something wasn’t quite right. I had asked my daughter’s nursery teachers and had been assured that all was well but I knew all was not well. One nursery teacher said that they’d understood The Youngest better once they had got the hang of me. I took this as a compliment mainly because I did not know what to do with that information. Apparently it had something to do with my sense of humour and the fact that I let my children have a carrot at breakfast. It seems that this teaches them that it’s ok to have a carrot at breakfast and this may be why The Youngest was growing up with some right funny ideas. To be honest it wasn’t the funny ideas that bothered me and I still don’t see what’s wrong with a carrot at breakfast.

Funnily enough, the very morning of my freaking, I had been to see a friend for a cup of tea. I had said, to my friend, that the school wouldn’t be doing their job properly if I wasn’t, at some point, taken to one side. I hadn’t for one second thought it would be so soon. Six hours, boy the school were on the ball!

The Youngest couldn’t answer a question. At first any question she was asked received a resounding “Yes” but, as new words were discovered, her answers became so much more interesting and puzzlingly fabulous. We had to fill in a form before she started nursery, I’d started to do this for her but decided that was very wrong of me so I asked her some of the questions.

What is your favourite food? “Erm . . . blue”

What would you like to be when you are older? “Aaron”

What do you enjoy doing most? “Yes”

Fast forward to school, more new words.

“What did you do at school today?”

“There were a dragon and the ladies handbag flied off to the chair but the boy hadn’t got his coat so cheese”

Ok.

Random words joined together to make the most marvellous of sentences. The Youngest knew lots of lovely words but had no idea what any of them meant. I’m pleased to report that this small matter didn’t stop her saying them, all of them, all of the time. The school have a speech therapist and thought it would be beneficial for all concerned if they met.

I love the speech therapist, she is simply wonderful. One tea time the phone rang and it were she, she rang for a chat and did exactly that long enough for me to burn our dinner, I didn’t mind though because she was telling me how wonderful my wee lass is, well I think that’s what she was saying.

“She is absolutely fascinating, I’ve been doing this for 15 years and I’ve never met anyone like her. I cannot wait to see her again” the nice speech lady gushed.

It was suggested that we had her hearing tested. I knew her hearing was fine but we went, it was fine, then we had nuggets and chips for lunch. It was a trip out, we made the best of it.

Anyhoo. We’re now six months in and the change has been remarkable. The Youngest still sees the speech therapist and has some one to one sessions with another marvellous lady at school, the time and effort the school has afforded my little pumpkin shows in every conversation we can now have. I emailed the speech therapist.

“Is it wrong of me to miss the randomness?”

I was assured that I would still get some bonkers responses. I replied that I hoped so.

We were in the garden this weekend, I was trying my hand at a little topiary but only ended up cutting a hole inside a bush as a den. I suggested to The Youngest that she get a chair so she could make the den a home, she thought that was a grand idea, she followed it with one of her own.

“I know, I’ve got an idea”

She stood up to add some ceremony to the occasion.

“You pretend to be my mum”

THERE SHE IS. MY LITTLE DOUGHNUT IS STILL IN THERE. YAY!

I coughed to disguise my giggling.

“Well, I’ll give it a go” said I and I meant it.

 

5 thoughts on ““Well, I’ll give it a go”

  1. In that case I make my claim to fame as the lovely lady she sometimes sees round at Nan’s, but who she wouldn’t ordinarily recognise if she fell over me 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

